Board members

Ann Marie Fazio Aliotta

  • Member since 2022
  • Associate Director, Communications, Office of University Development, University of Michigan
  • The Michigan Daily Alum, Reporter and News Editor
  • M.A. English and Creative Writing, New York University
  • B.A. English, University of Michigan

Alan Broad

  • Member since 2014
  • Principal, The Grosse Pointe Law Firm, P.C.
  • Assistant Michigan Attorney General, 1974 - 1985
  • A.B., U-M. 1970, J.D., Detroit College of Law, 1974

John Copeland

  • Member since 2019
  • Senior Director, Medical Education, Alumni Relations and Global Initiatives, Michigan Medicine
  • Formerly with Ross School of Business
  • B.A. Literature, Science and Arts, UM, 1990

Susan Douglas

  • Member since 2020
  • Catherine Neafie Kellogg Professor, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, University of Michigan LSA Communication & Media
  • 2009 recipient of the Leonardo DaVinci Prize, from Society for History of Technology
  • M.A., Ph.D., Brown University 

Jewel Gopwani Myers

  • Member since 2020
  • Senior Editor, Engagement & Events at The Detroit Free Press
  • Reporter, editor, arts writer and managing editor for The Michigan Daily 1997 - 2001
  • B.A., Organizational Studies, U-M, 2001 

Andrew Grossman

  • Member since 2021
  • Leads corporate strategy at Bloomberg Media and serves as chief of staff to the CEO
  • Prior to joining Bloomberg, Andrew worked at PayPal, Bain and Company, and as a reporter at The Wall Street Journal
  • Served as editor in chief of The Michigan Daily in 2008
  • B.A. History from the University of Michigan
  • MBA in finance from the University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School

Walter Middlebrook

  • Member since 2021
  • Foster Professor of Practice in the Donald P. Bellisario College of Communications, Penn State University
  • Part of an award-winning investigations team at The Detroit News; on staff 11 years
  • Earned a Lifetime Achievement Award in 2018 from the Society for Professional Journalists, Detroit Chapter
  • B.S. Journalism, Boston University, 1976

Pete Mooney - Chair of the Board

  • Member: 1990-1992, 2014 - present
  • Lawyer, Simen, Figura & Parker, PLC: Partner
  • Michigan Daily 1985-1988
  • A.B. U-M 1989, J.D. U-M 1992

Jacob Smilovitz

  • Member since 2018
  • Director, M&A and Investments, The New York Times
  • Michigan Daily Editor-in-Chief, 2010
  • B.B.A. U-M Ross School of Business 2011